Relax, the High Holidays are later than usual this year

Good news, you have some breathing room! The High Holidays in 2022 (or 5783 on the Jewish calendar) are later than usual this year.

(Last year the Holidays came super early.)

FYI: It’s never too early to start asking for time off from work or school. Check out our article here for tips.

Traditionally, Elul, the Jewish month leading up to the High Holidays, is meant to be used as a time for introspection and reflection. The point of Elul is to set the tone for the High Holiday period, so it’s all about taking personal stock of the past year and thinking about the year ahead.

Rosh Hashanah (Sunday, Sept. 25)

@jewishunpacked Rosh Hashanah begins at sunset this Monday Sept 6th 🍎🍯 |||#RoshHashanah #RoshHashanah2021 #JewishHolidays #JewishNewYear #JewishTikTok ♬ Wiggin’ out – Orchestra Heinz Kiessling & Various Artists

The Jewish New Year (1-2 Tishrei) begins at sunset on Sunday, September 25, 2022, and ends at nightfall of Tuesday, September 27, 2022.

Here’s a last minute checklist to get you ready.

Yom Kippur (Tuesday, Oct. 4)

@jewishunpacked @Ben Platt ♬ Yom Kippur – Unpacked

Yom Kippur (9-10 Tishrei) begins at sunset on Tuesday, October 4, 2022, and ends at nightfall on Wednesday, October 5, 2022.

Check our our last minute Yom Kippur checklist.

Sukkot (Sunday, Oct. 9)

@jewishunpacked Check out this massive pop up hut in #Brooklyn made for the #Jewish #holiday of Sukkot. #newyork ♬ Innovative Tech – Robert Casal

Sukkot (15-21 Tishrei) begins at sunset on Sunday, October 9, 2022, and ends at nightfall of Sunday, October 16, 2022.

Shemini Atzeret & Simchat Torah (Sunday, October 16)

Shemini Atzeret and Simchat Torah (22-23 Tishrei) begin on sunset of Sunday, October 16, 2022, and end at nightfall of  Tuesday, October 18, 2022.

Show us your holiday festivities on Instagram, Twitter and Tik Tok!