The Jewish holidays in 2022

Share on twitter
Share on facebook
Share on pinterest
Share on whatsapp

It may say 2022 on the calendar, but we are actually in year 5782 according to the Jewish calendar.

The Jewish, or Hebrew, calendar is a lunar/solar calendar (months are based on lunar months but years are based on solar years) and is the official calendar in Israel. The years count up from the “calculation” of when the Earth was created.

Holidays in 2022

Purim
Begins sunset Wednesday, March 16, 2022
Ends evening Thursday, March 17, 2022

Work is generally avoided.

Passover
Begins sunset Friday, April 15, 2022
Ends evening Saturday, April 23, 2022

According to the Orthodox tradition, no work is permitted during the 2 first and 2 last days.

Lag B’Omer
Begins sunset Wednesday, May 18, 2022
Ends evening Thursday, May 19, 2022

Shavuot
Begins sunset Saturday, June 4, 2022
Ends evening Monday, June 6, 2022

According to the Orthodox tradition, no work is permitted.

Tisha B’Av
Begins
sunset Friday, August 5, 2022
Ends evening Saturday, August 6, 2022

Rosh Hashanah
Begins sunset Sunday, September 25, 2022
Ends evening Tuesday, September 27, 2022

According to the Orthodox tradition, no work is permitted.

Yom Kippur
Begins sunset Tuesday, October 4, 2022
Ends evening Wednesday, October 5, 2022

According to the Orthodox tradition, no work is permitted.

Sukkot
Begins sunset Sunday, October 9, 2022
Ends evening Sunday, October 16, 2022

According to the Orthodox tradition, no work is permitted during the first 2 days.

Shemini Atzeret & Simchat Torah
Begins sunset Sunday, October 16, 2022
Ends evening of Tuesday, October 18, 2022

According to the Orthodox tradition, no work is permitted.

Hanukkah
Begins sunset Sunday, December 18, 2022
Ends evening Monday, December 26, 2022

In case you missed it, check out all the Jewish moments of 2021.

For more on all the Jewish holidays check us out on Instagram, Twitter and TikTok!

Share on twitter
Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp
Share on email